European communicable disease surveillance networks

The European Commission working in cooperation with Member State institutions supports an extensive array of disease specific surveillance networks.


Short descriptions of each network can be obtained from the website of the Commission's Directorate General for Public Health and Consumer Affairs and by following the links below.

European Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance System (EARSS)

European Influenza Surveillance Scheme (EISS)

European Laboratory Working Group on Diphtheria (ELWGD)

European Network for Diagnostics of Imported Viral Diseases (ENIVD)

International surveillance network for the enteric infections (ENTER-NET)

European Programme for Intervention Epidemiology Training (EPIET)

Basic Surveillance Network (BSN)

Scientific Evaluation on the Use of Antimicrobial Agents in Human Therapy (ESAC)

European Surveillance of Sexually Transmitted Infections (ESSTI)

European Union Invasive Bacterial Infections Surveillance (EU IBIS)

European bulletin on communicable disease (EUROSURVEILLANCE)

European Centre for the Epidemiological Monitoring of AIDS (EUROHIV)

Surveillance of tuberculosis in Europe (EUROTB)

Surveillance Community Network for Vaccine Preventable Infectious Diseases ( EUVAC.NET )

The European Working Group for Legionella Infections (EWGLI)

Hospitals in Europe Link for Infection Control through Surveillance (HELICS)

Inventory of Resources for Infectious Diseases in Europe (IRIDE)

Additional information